Will You Take a Look At Once More Right Here Frequently?

Time was when virtually all spam comments on my blog were automatically filtered out. The relative few that slipped through were obvious product-promotion messages.

No longer. For some months now, I’ve been getting comments that praise the blog and/or ask how to start one. Momentarily gratifying, but then I see that the name in the commenter line links to a marketing site.

Some of these “comments” read as if the writer isn’t fluent in English. This is also true for many comments that have no discernible relation to the blog — let alone the post they’re attached to.

So I got curious. Turns out the spammers are using thesaurus programs so that the messages they blast out aren’t identical. This lets them get through spam filters.

So the links sit on a lot of web pages, which gives them a bump in Google rankings. Bigger bump, I understand, if they’ posted on pages with popular keywords, i.e., search terms that will tend to increase the number of page views.

But, as everyone knows, words a thesaurus gives as synonyms aren’t all interchangeable.

Hence messages that read like very bad translations — often so bad I can’t back into what the thesaurus program started with. Yes, this is something I waste a bit of time on.

Well, you won’t find these comments on my blog because I blow them away. But I’m going to share a few for your amusement — all unedited, except for length.

“I will bookmark your weblog and take a look at once more right here frequently. I am somewhat sure I’ll be told many new stuff proper right here!”

“Hey cool web page! Male. Superb. Amazing. I will search for your site plus consider the feeds moreover? … [W]e want workout more approaches with this consideration, many thanks sharing.”

“Thanks for the auspicious writeup. It in reality was once a amusement account it. Glance complicated to more brought agreeable from you!”

“Heya i am for the primary time here. I found this board and I in finding It really useful & it helped me out much.”

“… Shame on the seek engines for now not positioning this post upper!”

“continuously I used to read smaller posts that as well clear their motive, and that is also happening with this piece of writing which I am reading here.”

“This placed appears to be able to recieve a tremendous ammount of visitors … It provides a pleasant exception spin about points.”

“hello! I love your writing very so much! share we communicate more approximately your article on AOL? … Taking a look ahead to see you.”

“Unquestionable just like your site however you must check the transliteration about a lot of your site content. Some of them are filled with punctuational concerns and that I believe it is very bothersome to see the truth alternatively I will certainly give back once again.”

“I actually adored one’s own running niche site and consequently views … Gives thanks in support of placing this approach so i think about investigate several other from you finding out going forward … I’m sorry for my words. it is don’t my personal natural words, believe you can easily realize.” Yes, I do!

And my all-time favorite: “When someone searches for his vital thing, therefore he/she wishes to be available that in detail, therefore that thing is maintained over here.”

Now back to serious stuff.

5 Responses to Will You Take a Look At Once More Right Here Frequently?

  1. zoom314 says:

    Gak! Sounds like someone is using very broken English or should I say a translator program, like from Chinese to English as an example, short of banning the source of these posts by their IP address, I’m not sure what you can beyond what you are doing now. Good luck Kathryn Baer.

  2. zoom314 says:

    Dang, that should be: I’m not sure what you ‘do’ can beyond what you are doing now.

  3. Laura DiSciullo says:

    Love it!

  4. check over here says:

    I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here.
    The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish.
    nonetheless, you command get bought an shakiness over that you wish be delivering the following.
    unwell unquestionably come more formerly again
    since exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this increase.

  5. Kathryn Baer says:

    Funny that one of those spam bloggers should pick this post. I’ve cleared it (less the link) because it’s such a fine example.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 176 other followers