Why Medicaid Matters, By A Young Blogger Who Knows

I found this posting on Laura’s Life and asked to cross-post it because it truly does tell us, as its title says, why Medicaid matters.

Laura is a fifth grader at a middle school in Zionsville, Indiana — “the middle of nowhere,” as she says. She’s been blogging since October 2009 about the many, many books she reads. You can learn more about this extraordinary guest blogger here.

I usually blog about books and things related to books. But because some of you have sort of gotten to know me and care about what happens in my life, I decided to interrupt my blog and write about something really important going on in my life right now.

Next Thursday, July 7th, I am going to the White House. My mom is meeting with administration officials to talk about Medicaid and why it matters to us and our family.

You might be surprised how much it matters to me. My parents have health insurance for our family from their jobs, but it is not enough to cover the costs and needs that come with Mitochondrial Disease.

Without Medicaid, I wouldn’t have this blog because I wouldn’t have a computer or books of my own. My family would have declared bankruptcy years ago. I wouldn’t have my scooter to get around. I would have a cheap manual wheelchair, so I wouldn’t be independent.

My parents wouldn’t be able to work as much or volunteer because we would lose access to the health aide that takes care of Matthew and me when my parents can’t because we can’t stay home alone with our medical issues like our peers do.

My dad would have never gotten his government positions because we would need him to push wheelchairs so Matthew and I could do something.

My life would be completely different.

I can’t believe some policymakers thought they could do away with Medicaid waivers and it would all be okay. All the different kinds of Medicaid that exist exist for a reason. Doing away with any of them would significantly impact lives.

And it is better for everyone that Medicaid exists because without my Medicaid waiver, my parents wouldn’t be able to do as much as they do for the community.

So I am going with my mom because this matters to me and kids like me.

You can help too! Please call and email both of your Senators and your Representative. Let them know how important Medicaid is. You can tell them how it matters to your friend Laura!

6 Responses to Why Medicaid Matters, By A Young Blogger Who Knows

  1. [...] This posting and my recent cross-posting from Laura’s Life are part of  a Medicaid blog-a-thon organized by MomsRising — a [...]

  2. [...] Why Medicaid Matters, By a Young Blogger Who Knows, Kathryn [...]

  3. [...] Why Medicaid Matters, By a Young Blogger Who Knows, Kathryn [...]

  4. [...] people who receive home care aren’t in the last stages of a fatal disease. Some are like my guest blogger Laura and her brother, whose disabilities would make it unsafe for them to be home [...]

  5. [...] people who receive home care aren’t in the last stages of a fatal disease. Some are like my guest blogger Laura on my site Poverty and Policy, and her brother, whose disabilities would make it unsafe for them to [...]

  6. [...] of you may recall my young guest blogger Laura, who told us why Medicaid matters to her and her family. Turns out there’s much more to the story — [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 163 other followers